Defining Gender Roles while Christmas Shopping

As the holidays near we slowly begin to shop for Christmas presents for our loved ones. Deciding what to get is one of the most difficult processes for me. When I just cannot remember things my family members have mentioned they want I tend to go towards what I call the safe gifts. For example, when deciding a gift for my brother I know to think of anything to do with sports or video games. However, when looking for my mom’s gift I focus on clothes, shoes, and/or jewelry. And when shopping for my dad I look for the latest in electronics or cars. Although these “safe gifts” may be based on hobbies and things my family members like they also stem from the gender roles of our society today.

Gender roles in society are defined as a set of societal norms dictating the types of behaviors that are generally considered acceptable, appropriate, or desirable for people based on their actual or perceived sex or sexuality. All places people shop for Christmas gifts such as target, macy’s, etc. tend to depict these gender roles by sectioning items into certain aisles in stores or tabs online. This is done to clearly separate what is seen as “normal” for a male, female, child, teenager, adult, or elderly to use or prefer. The link attached below is an example of a website people use to shop for Christmas presents along with the images of the Walmart and ToysRus commericals. Gifts are separated into separate linked tabs based on gender and age groups to show what is the proper gifts a person of that gender and age group would like based on the assumed gender roles of society today.

http://www.uncommongoods.com/gifts/christmas/christmas-gifts

 

Leave a Reply

